Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Longtime Alaskans Named to Junior Achievement of Alaska Business Hall of Fame

Alaska Energy Dudes and Divas is proud to be partners with Junior Achievement of Alaska, and the Alaskans being recognized this year for their support of Alaska's youth.

Anchorage, AK – Five outstanding Alaska business leaders will join the Alaska Business Hall of Fame at the annual Junior Achievement recognition event on January 30, 2014. Business peers recently selected:

  • Walter J. Hickel Jr. – Hickel Investment Company/Hotel Captain Cook
  • Martin Pihl – Chairman, Alaska Timber Insurance Exchange
  • Chris von Imhof – Alyeska Resort
  • The Doyle Family – Weaver Bros.
  • Helmericks Family – Colville Brooks Range Supply.

These business leaders are honored for their direct impact toward furthering the success of Alaska business, demonstrated support and commitment to Junior Achievement’s programs, and demonstrated commitment to Alaska business.

The induction ceremony into the Alaska Business Hall of Fame will be held Jan. 30, 2014 at the Dena’ina Civic & Convention Center. Junior Achievement of Alaska, Inc. and Alaska Business Monthly are the Title sponsors of this event. Alaska Business Monthly will feature an interview and biography of each of the Laureates in the January 2014 edition.

In 1987, Junior Achievement of Alaska, Inc. began the Alaska Business Hall of Fame to honor outstanding individuals of Alaskan business. Since then, the Hall of Fame has become one of the state’s most prestigious events, inducting new Laureates on an annual basis.
“This class joins a group of more than 100 Hall of Fame Laureates exemplifying the rich diversity of Alaska in terms of geographical regions, business and industrial heritage, and cultures. In essence, the Laureates represent the foundation upon which the state of Alaska is built and continues to grow.” Ret. Gen. Mark Hamilton, Hall of Fame 2014 Emcee
The 28th annual celebration includes a reception beginning at 5:30 p.m., dinner and induction ceremony at 6:30 p.m., concluding by 8:30 p.m.